Professor Grunde Jomaas receives John L. Bryan Award for mentoring the fire safety engineers of the future

Professor Grunde Jomaas, pictured with family in his hometown of Arendal in Norway
Professor Grunde Jomaas, pictured with family in his hometown of Arendal in Norway

Our BRE Chair of Fire Safety Engineering, Professor Grunde Jomaas, has received the John L. Bryan Award in recognition of his dedication to supporting and educating fire safety engineers.

The annual award, which is given by the Society of Fire Protection Engineers – the leading professional organisation in fire safety engineering – recognises those who “freely and unselfishly provide their expertise to other individuals in order to assist them in enhancing their education, advancing their careers, and expanding their experience and knowledge in fire protection engineering”.

The award was established in honour of John L. Bryan, the first chairman of the Department of Fire Protection Engineering at the University of Maryland, to celebrate his legacy of educating and mentoring fire protection engineers over more than 50 years.

Reacting to the award, Professor Jomaas said: “Receiving this award makes me extremely proud, as it is a testimony of a wide appreciation of my academic approach, which places the students in focus.

"The award is also a recognition of a decade of excellence in mentoring of IMFSE students – the world-leading MSc programme in Fire Safety Engineering that the University of Edinburgh offers with the universities of Ghent and Lund – as one of its founders, Robert Jönsson received the award in 2012.

He added, “It is particularly gratifying that Jose L. Torero (founder of IMFSE with Bart Merci and Robert Jönsson), whose academic approach inspired me to become an academic, will be present at the same award ceremony as the 2021 recipient of the David A. Lucht Lamp of Knowledge Award – an award that the IMFSE programme received in 2018.”

Find out more